Cricket Article

BBL Match Highlights: Heat makes it to the knockout by beating Strikers

An exciting match took place between the Brisbane Heat and the Adelaide Strikers in the play-off eliminator match of the Big Bash League 2020/21 (BBL 10) on Friday (January 29) night in Gabba (Brisbane). The Brisbane Heat won the match by 6 wickets against their opponent, Adelaide Strikers.

Adelaide Strikers captain Travis Head decided to bat after winning the flip-bat and sent the Brisbane Heat to field first.

Coming to bat first, the Strikers’ batters had to face the cannon of the bowlers of the Heat. The Strikers were able to score only 130 runs for the loss of 7 wickets in 20 overs facing the great spells of Marnus Labushagne, Mitchell Swepson, and Ben Laughlin. Jack Weatherland (32) and Philip Salt (26) were the top scorers for the Strikers and Marnus Labushagne (3-13, 3 overs) was the highest wicket-taker for the Heat.

Chris Lynn returned to the pavilion after being bowled by Michael Neser in the fourth ball of the first over while they came out to chase an easy target of 131. The Heat then lost two more wickets in the second and fourth overs & fell into pressure. But Joe Denley and Jimmy Pearson’s 69-run stand made the task done for the Heat with seven balls to spare. Joe Denley (41) and Jimmy Pearson (47*) were the top scorers for the Heat and Danny Briggs (1-16, 4 overs) was the top wicket-taker for the Strikers.

The Adelaide Strikers are out of the tournament after losing the match and the Brisbane Heat moves ahead in the tournament maintaining the winning streak. They will face the Sydney Thunder in the play-off knockout match this Sunday at Manuka Oval (Canberra).

Playing XIs:

Brisbane Heat – Sam Heazlett, Marnus Labuschagne, Joe Burns, Jimmy Peirson (wk), Chris Lynn (c), Joe Denly, Lewis Gregory, Mitchell Swepson, Morne Morkel, Mark Steketee, Ben Laughlin, Xavier Bartlett.

Adelaide Strikers – Alex Carey (wk), Philip Salt, Matt Renshaw, Jake Weatherald, Jonathan Wells, Travis Head (c), Michael Neser, Wes Agar, Peter Siddle, Danny Briggs, Liam O Connor, Daniel Worrall.


Adelaide Strikers – 130/7 (20)

Fall of wickets: 1-45 (Carey, 7.3 over), 2-55 (Weatherald, 10.2 over), 3-79 (Head, 13.3 over), 4-99 (Renshaw, 15.4 over), 5-109 (Salt, 17.3 over), 6-110 (Neser, 17.5 over), 7-114 (Briggs, 18.3 over)

Brisbane Heat – 131/4 (18.5)

Fall of wickets: 1-6 (Lynn, 0.4 over), 2-14 (Labuschagne, 1.6 over), 3-23 (Heazlett, 3.5 over), 4-92 (Denly, 13.4 over)

Result – Brisbane Heat won by 6 wickets

Player of the Match – Jimmy Peirson

BBL 10 is closer to an end. Predict the winners of the remaining matches and play on Baji!

More in Cricket Article