Cricket Article

CSA T20 Challenge 2021 Match Highlights, Final: Rabada, Magala plays a vital role to retain the trophy for the Lions

An exciting match between Lions and Dolphins took place in the final of the CSA T20 Challenge 2021 on Sunday night (February 28) at Kingsmead Cricket Ground (Durban). The defending champions Lions got a great victory of 4 wickets against their opponent Dolphins in this thrilling match.

Dolphins captain Keshav Maharaj won the toss and elected to bat, sending the Lions to the field first.

The Dolphins’ batsmen felt the aggression of the Lions bowlers coming down to start batting. In the first over, opener Sarel Erwee returned to the dressing room with a zero run after being bowled by Bjorn Fortuin. Later, in the controlled bowling of the Lions bowlers, the Dolphins lost 3 wickets in 6 overs of the power play and scored only 20. The batsmen could not accelerate the pace of the run because of the great spell of Kagiso Rabada and Sisanda Magala. Whenever they were focusing on increasing the run rate, they lost wickets in the aggressive bowling of the bowlers. As a result, the batsmen of Dolphins could not lead the team towards a big score. In the end, the Dolphins lost 7 wickets in 20 overs and managed to score 107 runs. Robbie Frylinck (30) scored the highest runs for the team. Kagiso Rabada (3-12, 4 overs) took 3 wickets for the Lions and Sisanda Magala (2-19, 4 overs) took 2 wickets.

Opener Reeza Hendricks and captain Temba Bavuma took the team to a great position scoring 41 runs after losing one wicket in the power play coming down to chase the easy target of 108 runs. At the end of 10 overs, Temba Babuma (22) was caught by Miller off Robbie Frylinck whilst the team total was 61 runs. The Lions were in danger when Van der Dussen lost his wicket to Ottniel Baartman in the next over. But the batsmen kept moving towards victory by pushing all the obstacles. In the end, the Lions reached the port of victory losing 6 wickets with one over to spare & thanks to an unbeaten 24 off 23 balls by Wiaan Mulder. Reeza Hendricks (39) scored the highest runs for the team. Ottniel Baartman (2-20, 4 overs) was the highest wicket-taker for the Dolphins. 

The Lions are now the winners of the CSA T20 Challenge 2021 by winning this match. With this, the Lions have become the second consecutive champions in the CSA T20 Challenge League. However, the Lions have won the CSA T20 Challenge League four times so far. The Lions have won the last two editions and the other two in the 4th and 10th editions.

Playing XIs:

Dolphins Grant Roelofsen, Ruan de Swardt, Khaya Zondo, Mangaliso Mosehle (wk), David Miller, Sarel Erwee, Robbie Frylinck, Prenelan Subrayen, Kerwin Mungroo, Keshav Maharaj (c), Ottniel Baartman

Lions –  Reeza Hendricks, Temba Bavuma (c), Wiaan Mulder, Delano Potgieter, Ryan Rickelton (wk), Rassie van der Dussen, Bjorn Fortuin, Kagiso Rabada, Beuran Hendricks, Sisanda Magala, Aaron Phangiso


Dolphins – 107/7 (20.0)

Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Sarel, 0.3 over), 2-11 (Swardt, 3.1 over), 3-14 (Miller, 4.3 over), 4-38 (Roelofsen, 8.1 over), 5-56 (Zondo, 12.2 over), 6-84 (Mosehle, 16.4 over), 7-90 (Maharaj, 18.5 over)

Lions – 108/6 (19.0)

Fall of wickets: 1-25 (Rickelton, 2.4 over), 2-61 (Bavuma, 10.2 over), 3-65 (Dussen, 11.3 over), 4-79 (Reeza, 14.4 over), 5-80 (Rabada, 15.2 over), 6-103 (Delano, 18.4 over)

Result – Lions won by 4 wickets

CSA 2021 has just finished. Stay tuned for more cricket highlights, predict the winners & play on Baji!

More in Cricket Article