Connect with us

Cricket Article

Road Safety World Series: The legends are getting ready to promote road safety by their game

The Road Safety World Series (RSWS) is a T20 cricket tournament for retired cricketers organized by The Road Safety Cell of Maharashtra, India. Where each team is lined up with legendary players from their respective countries. 6 legendary teams from India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, West Indies, England and South Africa will take part in the tournament in this edition. A legendary team from Australia also took part in the tournament last time. But due to Australia’s strict Covid-19 restrictions, the Australian team is not participating in the tournament this time. A total of 15 matches will be played from March 5 to March 21.

The tournament was sanctioned by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The first edition was launched in March 2020. The series was postponed due to the global coronavirus epidemic after four games were held in Mumbai and Pune.

The organizing committee has taken the initiative to resume the series again this year from its previous position. The journey of the tournament started with the 5 legendary teams of India, Sri Lanka, Australia, West Indies, and South Africa. However, as Australia will not participate this time, Bangladesh and England legendary teams have replaced them for the competition.

The tournament will be held in a round-robin manner. That means each team will play a match with each team. The top four teams will then play the semifinal matches, and the two winning teams from there will participate in the final. India’s Sachin Tendulkar, Sri Lanka’s Tillakaratne Dilshan, Bangladesh’s Khaled Mahmud Sujon, West Indies’s Brian Lara, England’s Kevin Pietersen, South Africa’s Jonty Rhodes will be captaining their respective teams and Australia’s Brett Lee was the captain of his team last time.

The legendary Indian team is at the top of the points table after winning all the two of their matches played last time where a total of four matches were played last year. South Africa is second in the points table, Sri Lanka is third, Australia is fourth and the West Indies is fifth. Bangladesh and England both are at the bottom as they are yet to play a match in this tournament.


India Legends
Sachin Tendulkar (c), Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Mohammad Kaif, Irfan Pathan, Pragyan Ojha, Munaf Patel, Manpreet Gony, Subramaniam Badrinath, Naman Ojha, Zaheer Khan, Ajit Agarkar

Sri Lanka Legends
Tillakaratne Dilshan (c), Sanath Jayasuriya, Chamara Kapugedera, Chinthaka Jayasinghe, Ajantha Mendis, Farveez Maharoof, Thilan Thushara, Russel Arnold, Upul Tharanga, Dulanjana Wijesinghe, Chamara Silva, Nuwan Kulasekara, Dhammika Prasad

Bangladesh Legends
Khaled Mahmud (c), Mohammad Sharif, Nafees Iqbal, Aftab Ahmed, Mohammad Rafique, Abdur Razzak, Khaled Mashud, Hannan Sarkar, Javed Omar, Rajin Saleh, Mehrab Hossain, Alamgir Kabir, Mushfiqur Rahman, Mohammed Nazimuddin Ahmed, Mamoon Rashid

West Indies Legends
Brian Lara (c), Dwayne Smith, Narsingh Deonarine, Mahendra Nagamootoo, William Perkins, Adam Sanford, Dinanath Ramnarine, Pedro Collins, Ryan Austin, Sulieman Benn, Tino Best, Carl Hooper, Ridley Jacobs, Renford Pinnock

England Legends
Kevin Pietersen (c), Owais Shah, Monty Panesar, Kabir Ali, Nick Compton, Philip Mustard, Usman Afzaal, Matthew Hoggard, James Tindall, Chris Tremlett, Sajid Mahmood, James Tredwell, Chris Schofield, Jonathan Trott, Ryan Sidebottom

South Africa Legends
Jonty Rhodes (c), Morné van Wyk, Garnett Kruger, Roger Telemachus, Makhaya Ntini, Loots Bosman, Monde Zondeki, Justin Kemp, Alviro Petersen, Mornantau Hayward, Andrew Puttick, Thandi Tshabalala, Lloyd Norris-Jones, Zander de Bruyn

An interesting battle between the legends is coming up. Predict the winner among them and place bets on!

More in Cricket Article